Concealed Carry in Texas is where a person can conceal carry a handgun after obtaining a physical license through the proper training. If you’re looking to get your concealed carry permit quick and easy, let TexasCarryCourse help you! Sign up today and get your DPS approved license ASAP.
What is Texas Concealed Carry?
The Texas Concealed Carry law authorizes a person without conflicting offenses and who meet a set of requirements to conceal carry a handgun on their person with the proper licensing. The following is a guide on everything you need to know about Texas Concealed Carry law and policies to help you get your concealed carry license.Sign Up For Course
State law requires a certain list of requirements in order to be eligible for a concealed carry permit. Due to Texas being a shall-issue state, if you meet all of the requirements, fill out the necessary paperwork, and pass the required classes, you won’t be turned away from getting your handgun license.
In terms of eligibility, you must meet the following requirements to get a concealed carry in Texas:
Either be a resident of the state of Texas for 6 months or fall in the category of a resident of another state that meets the special requirements for a concealed carry permit. These specifications can be found on the Texas DPS website.
Has not been convicted or a fugitive of either a felony or a Class A or B misdemeanor or disorderly conduct charges.
At least 21 years of age or 18 years of age for active military. (You can take the classes at age 20 and then wait to send in your application for your concealed carry permit until your 21st birthday.
Are mentally competent and are not chemically dependent.
Is capable of proper storage and use of a gun.
Are fully qualified (state and federal) to purchase a gun
*The full set of requirements can be found on the Texas DPS website
Requirements to Apply for a License
In order to apply for a concealed carry, you must pass both a handgun proficiency course and a live-fire assessment given by a qualified instructor. The handgun proficiency course will be between four and six hours long, followed by a test, and the law states that the course can be either online (approved in 2017) or in person. TexasCarryCourse offers an inexpensive and easy way to get the proficiency course certification portion of your application taught by DPS approved instructors!
You will also need a live-fire portion to round out your application which will show that you, as the applicant, can safely and effectively operate a handgun.Sign Up For Course
Applying for Your Concealed Carry License
After completing both the proficiency course (online or in person) and the live-fire portion, you are ready to start applying for your permit! The application is going to ask you for the following: $40 fee to receive your license, your fingerprint ($10 fee), your certificates from the live-fire and proficiency exam, an LTC-6 form, 2 passport-style photos (if you are an out of state resident), and a copy of a government-issued ID.
Time Frame to Receive Your Licence
Once you go through the application process, it will take up to 60 days to finish processing if no snags occur in your paperwork. If the state DPS finds a problem with any of your paperwork, up to 180 days can be added to your application finalization. Once your application has been approved, it can take up to 60 days to arrive in the mail, and if you requested a renewal, you should expect it to come in up to 45 days.Sign Up For Course
Permit Duration and Renewal Policies
The state law states that the holder’s handgun license will last four years and expire on the holder’s birthday following the fourth year. For the renewal of a concealed carry handgun license, the returning applicant must resubmit the $40 application fee as well as fill out a renewal application form, an LTC-85 form (Release of Records), and an LTC-86 form (Knowledge of Laws and Eligibility). You can apply for the renewal online on the Texas DPS website.
Additional Notes about Texas Concealed Carry Laws
Texas is a shall-issue state meaning that if you apply for a permit and meet all of the eligibility requirements, the law enforcement agency can not deny the applicant a permit.
A concealed carry permit is not required in order to have a handgun in a personal vehicle.
Law doesn’t require a license for legal rifles or shotguns.
What exactly does TexasCarryCourse offer?
TexasCarryCourse is a Texas concealed carry class that offers an online class environment to take the proficiency course. This course is different than any of the other courses on the market in terms of convenience and efficiency. Our classes offer modern material that will keep you interested for the full four-hour duration of the class. The time will fly by! The content offered is mobile friendly and can be paused and resumed, as often as you need, to work with your schedule. For your convenience, we also offer notes to go along with the video course for optimal learning.
Our team consists of knowledgeable and skilled instructors that have been approved by the Texas DPS. You’ll come away from this class gaining your LTC-101 form and the knowledge you need to operate a gun safely and feel confident going into your live-fire portion. The TexasCarryCourse team is also available to assist in finding a convenient location for you to take your live-fire portion.Sign Up For Course
Can you get a concealed carry permit online in Texas?
You can absolutely get a concealed carry permit online in Texas. TexasCarryCourse can help you get your permit fast!
Do I need a license to concealed carry in Texas?
You must have a license in order to conceal carry a handgun. In order for your license to be in effect, you must have your physical copy from the state of Texas DPS.
How long will it take to receive a physical concealed carry license?
To get a new license in Texas you're looking at up to 60 days. A renewal license can take up to 45 days to arrive in the mail.
Do you have to tell the police you have a gun in the car in Texas?
Law enforcement must be told immediately if there is a handgun in your vehicle. You are not restricted from carrying, however, for the safety of yourself and others, make it known to the officer.
If you need help or need a jumpstart on getting your permit, look no further than TexasCarryCourse. Our team of experienced professionals make the process quick and easy giving you confidence in safely carrying a handgun. The four hour Texas Concealed Carry Class will hold your attention and give you the information that you need without any unnecessary fillers. We have a great deal on our classes so be sure to sign up today and let us help you with handgun licensing today!Sign Up For Course