CHL - TexasCarryCourse

Get your Texas LTC 101 Certificate Today

Download and print your LTC-104 (formerly called a LTC-100/101) immediately after passing our DPS approved online LTC class. Get started and finish today!

4.73 out of 5 · 879 Reviews

Our self paced online LTC class allows you to finish in as little as 4 hours (required minimum by Texas law) or you can break it up as much as you want. Each video is only 15 minutes and we give you a year to complete the entire class.

6545Offer valid through Saturday (6/22).
Limited online spots available.

Offer valid through Saturday (6/22).
Limited online spots available.

Need More Information? 
Click to Learn More
CHL - TexasCarryCourse

Steps to get your Texas LTC

License to Carry a Handgun

Steps to get your Texas LTC · License to Carry

Formerly known as a CHL · Concealed Handgun License
CHL - TexasCarryCourse

Frequently Asked Questions

When going through the process of getting a LTC, you may have a few questions. Here are some of our most frequently asked questions.

Frequently Asked Questions

When going through the process of getting a LTC, you may have a few questions. Here are some of our most frequently asked questions.

Can I take my LTC class online in Texas?

Yes, you can complete the classroom portion of your LTC Class online with Texas Carry Course and we will give you your DPS issued LTC-101 form which is required to take the live-fire exam at a location convenient for you.

We can provide you with a list of local instructors once you complete the class. Simply reply to your completion email or receipt email with the name of your city and we can send you back the corresponding list. 

How long does it take to complete the Texas LTC class?

Online Class Portion

The online class is 4 hours long as required by the state of Texas. We break it into 15 minute easy to digest videos so you can come and go as you need. We give you up to a year to finish the class. So finish in as little as 4 hours, or take more time to go at a pace that fits your schedule. After passing the class you get immediate access to your DPS issued LTC-101 so you can download and print it for the shooting exam. 

Shooting Proficiency Exam Portion

This portion takes 1 hour in person with a local instructor. We provide our students with a courtesy list of local instructors. Simply reply to your receipt email or completion email and let us know what city you are in. 

Getting Your License

Once you apply for your license on the DPS website and submit the documents you got from our class, the state of Texas has up to 60 days to issue you your license by mail. We've heard from students that the current wait time is only a couple of weeks right now. 

Is a CHL the same as an LTC?

Yes. The proper name in Texas is a "License to Carry." In Texas you can carry openly or concealed, so they renamed the license in 2015 to just be a License to Carry or LTC for short.

You may hear people refer to it as a Concealed Carry License (CCL), Concealed Handgun License (CHL) or Concealed Carry Weapons License (CCW). These are just alternative names that people call it. In Texas there is only one official name when applying and taking your classes and that is a License to Carry or LTC for short.

What is the difference between a LTC-100 and a LTC-101

They are essentially the same thing, the only difference is the layout of the form. There used to only be a LTC-100 form. Once the state made the classroom portion accessible online, they created another form called a LTC-101. 

A LTC-100 only has room for 1 instructors credentials. Meaning only one instructor can fill out the form. 

A LTC-101 has room for 2 instructors. The online class instructor and the shooting proficiency instructor. This is needed so that both instructors can properly fill out their credentials on the form to be submitted to the DPS. You will be issued an LTC-101 from our class with Part A filled in with your passing information and our instructor information. You must print and take this form to your shooting portion so they can fill out Part B and C showing you can safely handle and shoot a firearm. 

Can I get my LTC if I'm 18?

Yes. Texas just recently announced on the DPS website that you can now get your license to carry starting at 18 years old

Previsouly you had to be 21 or older to get a LTC, now if you are 18, 19 or 20+ you can get your license to carry in Texas. Simply follow the steps on our website to get started with the class. 

Click here to learn more about 18 year old + LTC Ruling.

How can I contact you with more questions?

You can reach out to us in multiple ways:

Live Chat at the bottom right corner of the website.

Email us at [email protected]

Call us at 800-296-6849

Or check our Frequently Asked Questions page.

CHL - TexasCarryCourse

About Texas Carry Course

Your #1 rated and trusted Texas LTC class.

Texas Carry Course has been providing high-quality online Texas license to carry classes since 2018. We have over 20 years of experience in firearms instruction and have helped more than 25,000 online students get their license to carry since 2018.

Our team of experts is dedicated to providing the best possible training to ensure our students feel confident and prepared to exercise their Second Amendment rights. Choose TexasCarryCourse.com for a trusted, convenient, and affordable online LTC class.

CHL - TexasCarryCourse

What does the online
LTC class cover?

The official DPS approved curriculum.

What does the online LTC class cover?

The official DPS approved curriculum.

Group Discount Pricing

Save when you buy multiple class registrations. You can sell or gift them to friends or family members. No expiration as to when they need to start, so if you don't know who will use it today, thats ok.

Group Discount Pricing

Save when you buy multiple class registrations. You can sell or gift them to friends or family members. No expiration as to when they need to start, so if you don't know who will use it today, thats ok.
4 People

Save $20 - Pay only $45


$45

Online Texas LTC Class

 Study at your own pace
 Short easy to follow videos
 Try until you pass
 DPS Approved

Enroll Now

Extra class vouchers don't expire. Assign them to your friends or family when you decide who they will go to, but don't miss the savings today. Group discounts are a limited time offer.

Top 12 Reasons to get a LTC

These are just some of the most important reasons to get a LTC.

Top 12 Reasons to get a LTC

These are just some of the most important reasons to get a LTC.
CHL - TexasCarryCourse

Video Based Course

Complete your state required LTC Class on your own terms.

Our course is broken into 15 minute or less easily digestible videos. While our DPS approved course totals 4 hours -which is what's required by Texas law- we make it easy to come and go as needed by keeping the videos short and engaging.

  • Fully Narrated Videos that will keep you interested and engaged for maximum comprehension.
  • Live action examples and situations that are taught by first hand experience of an educated and knowledgeable instructor.
  • We even offer and provide you with the notes from each video so you can learn the way that suits you best and allows you to take control of your own learning.
Enroll Online Today  

Desktop, Tablet, and Mobile Friendly

Complete the course from any of your devices. You can even switch between them as needed and your progress will be saved.
CHL - TexasCarryCourse