Frequently Asked Questions
When going through the process of getting an LTC, you may have a few questions. Here are some of our most frequently asked questions. If you have additional questions please feel free to call us or message us in the live chat in the bottom right of your screen. Have a great day and God Bless Texas!
Is this Legit?
Yes! Our course is fully approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. In 2017 Texas Legislature passed a bill (TX GC 411.188 & 411.190) allowing for the classroom portion of theTexas LTC course to be taught online by approved online course providers.
If you would like to verify this information with the Texas Department of Public Safety please call 512-424-7293 (Handgun Licensing Program). Our Instructors name is Eric Lichtenberg.
What do I do after the online course?
After you pass our online course you will need to print out your LTC-101 from your account dashboard. You will then need to schdule the range portion of your course with a local instructor. This can usually be done at your local firing range. You will need to take your LTC-101 with you so that the local instructor can fill out the remainder portion your LTC-101 once you pass the range portion. Finally after you have passed both sections of the course, you will then be able to apply for your LTC.
What are the steps to get my LTC?
Step #1 - Complete the Online Course
Sign up and complete our Texas DPS approved online LTC course. We will issue you your LTC-101 upon passing our course. Sign up is quick, easy and secure.
Step #2 - Complete the Live Fire Exam
Complete the live fire exam with a local instructor, don't worry, we will give you a list of instructors near you that offer just the live fire portion. Simply email us your city when you are done with the course.
Step #3 Apply for your LTC
Get your fingerprints taken at your local police station and apply for your License to Carry on the DPS website.
How to Apply
Once you complete the steps above you will need to file the required Texas LTC application with the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. You may however take the proficiency class portion at age 20, but since you must attest to being 21 on your application the application may not be submitted prior to your 21st birthday.
How Do I Get Back To My Course
Here is how you can get back to your course:
1. Login to your account using the login button in the top right corner, or in the dropdown menu via the top right corner if you are on a mobile phone.
2. Click on the dashboard link in the top right corner, or in the dropdown menu via the top right corner if you are on a mobile phone.
3. Once you are on the dashboard click the red button labeled "continue course" , "begin course", or "view certificate."
How Long Is The Course
The course is 4 hours as required by the state of Texas. However we break it up into 24 sections so no one section is longer than 20 minutes. Your progress is saved as soon as you hit the "next" button to go to the next section and you can come and go as needed.
Can the Texas Concealed Carry Course can be taken online?
Yes, the state of Texas has allowed approved and licensed online course providers like Texas Carry Course to offer online classes since 2017. Our course is listed on the DPS website as an approved course provider as well.
Can everyone take the Texas LTC Class online?
Yes, if you are eligible to get your Concealed Carry License, then you are eligible to take the course online.
Eligibility requirements for a license to carry in Texas include but are not limited to:
- a legal resident of the state
- at least 21 or military personnel or honorably discharged
- not convicted/ charged with a felony or a Class A or B misdemeanor
- capable of exercising sound judgement under possession of a gun
Additional requirements can be found on the Texas DPS website.
If you have questions about your eligibility or would like to challenge portions of your eligibility, there are proper channels on the Texas Department of Public Safety website to help you address your concerns.
How old do you have to be to take the Texas LTC course online?
You can legally own a handgun at 21 years of age and may be able to get your LTC. Click HERE for eligibility requirements. You can take the online class before 21 (usually once you turn 20), you just cannot submit your application to Texas DPS until your 21st birthday.
What are the minimum system requirements to access this course?
You can take the course on any modern computer, tablet, or mobile smart phone.
Do I have to be a resident of Texas to take the Texas Concealed Carry Course?
No, you do not have to be a Texas resident. Texas issues a Non-resident permit as well. The handgun proficiency test must be completed in Texas. TX DPS does not allow the proficiency test to be administered outside of the state.
The only requirement to take the online LTC class is to have a Texas Drivers License or Identification card or a DL/ID from any other state in the United States. This information is needed for the LTC-101 certificate of completion, which is issued for the successful completion of the class.
Can I take the Online LTC class from anywhere?
Yes! The class can be taken on your computer, tablet, or smartphone. You can stop at the end of any section and pick up later. Hit the “Next” button and it will save your progress. You will need to complete your in person live fire exam in person, in Texas.
Is it safe and secure to enter my credit card information online for the Texas LTC course?
Yes, texascarrycourse.com is a secure site. We do not store credit card information on our servers or ever see your card information. We use the latest in SSL encryption. All of your information is processed directly with the bank/credit card company and we have no way of seeing your credit card information.
Do I have to complete the entire concealed carry course all at once?
No, you can start and stop at your convenience. Simply hit “next” at the end of a section and we will save your progress. We have broken up the course into 24 sections. Most sections are only 5-10 minutes long. Our longest one is 20 minutes.
Do I have to take an online exam to get my concealed carry permit?
You are required to complete and pass a DPS approved Concealed Carry Course prior to applying for your permit.
Are there discounts available for the LTC online class?
We offer a $10 refund for military members with proof of military identification. Simply reply to your purchase receipt email with proof of active duty ID or veteran ID (photo). Thank you for your service to our country!
If I am in the military, do I still need to take the course?
Yes, you will need to take the online concealed carry course, however you are exempt from the live fire demonstration to receive your LTC permit if you were active duty in the last 10 years and have a copy of your range card.
Do I need to do the shooting qualification portion with my military experience?
No, you will online need to take the online concealed carry course. You are exempt from the live fire demonstration to receive your LTC permit if you were active duty in the last 10 years and have a copy of your range card.
I lost my Texas online course certificate, how do I get a copy?
Log into your profile at https://texascarrycourse.com/students/sign_in and go to your dashboard link in the top right. You can download a copy of your certificate from there at anytime.
I lost my valid LTC, how do I get a replacement copy?
To replace a lost LTC, you will need to reach out to your local DPS office or log into DPS account as a “returning user” and follow the instructions provided. To access the DPS website, click HERE.
What do I receive when I have completed the Texas Concealed Carry course?
You will get your Texas DPS issued LTC-101 form/certificate. You have the option of having your certificate mailed to you, or you can download and print it from your account on our website. Once you have the phiscial copy you can take it to a local instructor to finish the shoot portion of the course. If you need a list of instructors please email us for a list, just let us know what city you are in. Once you finish the shooting part you will then need to apply for your license to carry on the DPS website at https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/
Will the Texas LTC allow me to carry both open and concealed?
Yes. Open carry is only legal with a Texas License to Carry (LTC) or a concealed carry license/permit from a state with reciprocity in Texas, provided the handgun is in a shoulder or belt holster. The minimum age is 21 years old or 18 years old for active-duty military officers.
Texas LTC’s are issued to both residents and non-residents who are at least 21 years of age (18 if a member or veteran of the U.S. military). Some areas are off-limits to open or concealed carry including racetracks and secure areas of airports.
After completion of the online LTC class, how long is the LTC-101 certificate valid for?
Your LTC-101 certificate is valid for 1 year after completing the online concealed carry course. This means that you have 1 year to take the proficiency demonstration and submit it to DPS. The LTC applicant must also be 21 at the time the application is submitted to the Department of Public Safety.
How do I submit the LTC application after completing the online course?
You can apply for your License to Carry permit on the DPS website, click HERE (https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/ltc/) to start the process. You will need the following information:
- Valid driver license or identification card
- Current demographic, address, contact, and employment information
- Residential and employment information for the last five years (new users only)
- Information regarding any psychiatric, drug, alcohol, or criminal history
- Valid email address
- Valid credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Discover, or American Express) ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE
Do I have to take a live fire class after the online portion?
Yes, you will need to complete your in-person proficiency demonstration after completing and passing the online portion. For a list of local instructors, simply reply to your completion email providing the city in which you reside for a list of licensed instructors to be emailed back to you.
What is in the live fire course or shooting portion of the handgun proficiency?
The qualification of the live fire portion consist of a total of 50 rounds using a B27 target. 20 Rounds shot at 3 yards, 20 at 7 yards and 10 at 15 yards. During this qualification, the student must also be able to demonstrate basic safe gun handling.
What happens is I fail the shooting qualification/proficiency demonstration?
If you fail your shooting proficiency demonstration, DPS does allow retakes. However, a retake is subject to the instructor. If the handgun was handled safely, a retake may be allowed. If the reason for failing was due to safety violations, you may be required to take a safety course before being able to shoot the qualification again.
How difficult is the examination at the end of the online LTC class?
The texascarrycourse.com exam is 25 questions, all multiple choice and based on the safety information you have learned in the sections of our course. You get 3 attempts to pass.
If I fail the online LTC course, can I retake the test?
Yes, you can retake the license to carry course. You are allowed 3 attempts to pass the course to receive your certificate.
After passing the online LTC course, how do I locate a local instructor for the shooting portion?
Simply reply to your certificate email with your city name and we will reply with a list of local, licensed instructors.
How do I find a Texas License to Carry instructor near me?
Simply reply to your congratulations email with your city name and we will reply with a list of local, licensed instructors.
Is this Texas concealed carry course approved by DPS?
Texascarrycourse.com is an approved online course provider and LTC Instructor through Texas Department of Public Safety Handgun Licensing Division. We are listed on the DPS website as an approved course provider. Our instructor, Eric Lichtenberg is a Certified Texas LTC instructor.
Is TexasCarryCourse content approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety?
Yes, TexasCarryCourse went through a rigorous process with the Texas Department of Public Safety to create its approved course material in conjunction with the Texas DPS. You can call the Texas DPS for verification. Our instructors name is Eric Lichtenberg.
Steps to get your Texas Formerly known as a CHL · Concealed Handgun License
LTC · License to Carry
Steps to get your Texas LTC · License to CarryFormerly known as a CHL · Concealed Handgun License
Complete The Online LTC/CHL Class
Complete the self paced online class. Come and go as needed. Each section is roughly 15 minutes.
You are immediately given access to your DPS LTC-101.
Take your LTC-101 form and proceed to Step 2.
Complete The Live Shooting Portion
Shoot for 1 hour with a local instructor.
You can request a list of local instructors from us.
They will sign part B & C of your LTC-101 we gave you.
Proceed to step 3 to apply for your LTC.
Apply for your LTC/CHL
Submit your online application and LTC-101 form to the DPS.
Get your fingerprints taken at "Identogo" (The DPS will give you instructions for this).
Receive your Texas LTC in the mail.
We have helped over 25,000+ successful students since 2018 🎉
"Texas is one of the friendliest states for gun owners, and this builds on that tradition."
"The state's online carry permit system, which allows for a streamlined process, has already been a success"
One America News
TexasCarryCourse is Rated Excellent
4.73 out of 5 (879 Reviews)
The course was required to get my license, but it was also surprisingly enjoyable and engaging.
Wasn't the most exciting thing I've ever done, but it works and was easy and I did learn a lot.
It works, got my license in about 2 weeks from the DPS office.
You still have to do the shooting proficiency after, this covers just the online. But good price.
highly recommend this course for anyone getting their license.
Works great! Recommended
I turned 18 6 mo ago. I saw on the news tx changed the rules. The course in no cap got my carry permit.
Like others said... Not the most fun, but it works. State courses are never going to be a thrill ride.
I got a $10 refund just for sending them a copy of my Military ID. If you are military you are exempt from the shooting qual.
Good. Did the job, not sure what else to say.
Signed up all 3 of my daughters. 25 bucks each was too good to pass up.
Being able to stop and go made this worth it. The course works, and the support gentleman was helpful.