The Texas LTC application is your key to a concealed carry license! Once you have taken the necessary measures and provided the proper documentation, you can apply through the Texas DPS to receive a physical license. If you want to start the steps for an LTC (CHL), sign up at TexasCarryCourse ASAP!
A Brief Overview of the LTC Application
The CHL or the recently named LTC (after 2017) allows eligible people to have a concealed gun (handgun) on their person without consequences if used in accordance with the law. You must fill out an LTC application, and be approved in order to receive your license as well as possess a physical copy of that license while you conceal carry. The Texas LTC Application should be filled out on the Texas DPS website.
The Texas LTC Application Process
The online application process for the LTC (CHL) is easier than ever before with all of the explicitly detailed requirements and instructions for getting your gun license! It’s time to stop putting it off and get started today. The following information will help you get a rundown of everything that you need to know to start having a concealed gun ASAP! If you need further instructions, the Texas DPS website contains a full overview and specifics about the following topics.
There are eligibility requirements in order to get your LTC (CHL) license and in order to save yourself some time, you should check to see if you meet them. The following are some of the general requirements to be aware of:
- Either be a resident of the state of Texas for 6 months or fall in the category of a resident of another state that meets the special requirements for a concealed carry permit. These specifications can be found on the Texas DPS website.
- Has not been convicted or a fugitive of either a felony or a Class A or B misdemeanor or disorderly conduct charges.
- At least 18 years of age.
- Are mentally competent and are not chemically dependent.
- Can properly store and use a gun
- Can purchase a gun by state and federal standards
*The full set of requirements can be found on the Texas DPS website
Enroll Today For Our LTC Class
Classes You Must Pass
Once you have checked your eligibility, you are ready to start taking classes! The first class you need to take is on handgun proficiency. This class can be easily taken through TexasCarryCourse and takes four hours to complete with valuable and entertaining information about gun safety. The second and final class that you must take and pass is the live-fire exam. This class allows Texas DPS to ensure that you can safely and accurately fire a gun before they approve your online application. You must have successfully passed each class based on Texas DPS standards, and obtained certificates which you will submit along with the documentation for your license to carry application.
Once you have completed each class, you will receive a certificate that you will submit as part of your documentation for the license to carry application. You also need to be prepared to submit a state approved ID, credit card or debit card number for fees (you can expect $40 unless you fall into one of the explicitly stated categories on the DPS website), addresses and jobs for the past 5 years, and all previous criminal history. Any information that you withhold may cause your license to carry application to be rejected or require further modification.
During the application process, you’ll have to fill out a handgun licensing–original application form. This form will allow you submit information by directly typing in information such as name, identifiers, contact information, and reported history, along with the forms that correspond to each section if additional steps need to be taken. It is very important that you fill out these forms honestly and as directed. If there are errors, the paperwork could take up to an additional 180 days to be approved.
The process to apply will be fairly smooth if you keep in mind the documentation that you need to submit as well as take the classes seriously in order to get your certificates. Once you apply, all there is left to do is wait it out and your CHL (LTC) will come in no time!
What documents do I need for a Texas LTC?
You will need your certificates from the online class and live-fire and proficiency exam, known as an LTC-101, and a copy of a government-issued ID.
How long does it take to get an LTC in Texas?
It will take around 60 days from submission to get your LTC, however, if something goes wrong with paperwork, it could take up to 180 additional days. Renewal LTC licenses take 45 days to receive.
What disqualifies you from getting an LTC in Texas?
Disqualification from this type of license can occur from having criminal offenses, are under the age of 18, cannot properly and safely store a gun, or are not fully qualified to purchase a gun.
Can you fill out an online LTC application in Texas?
You can do most all aspects of the application online, except the finger printing that is done through a company called "Identogo" which has locations all over Texas! With TexasCarryCourse you are able to get the handgun proficiency course certificate online to submit with the Texas DPS website’s application.
With the help of TexasCarryCourse, filling out your online LTC application is simple! Our team assists with the handgun proficiency certificate for your license and we will also be able to help direct you to a location for the live-fire portion as you take the next steps. You need to submit your training certificate for both of these classes to get your LTC (CHL), its called your LTC-101. Our experienced team knows that your time is valuable, so sign up for our convenient and helpful class today!
Sign Up For Your LTC/CHL Course Today
Last updated June 2023