Texas CHL Renewal Process in 2023

 Posted on January 5, 2023

In Texas, a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is now referred to as a License to Carry (LTC). This change was made in 2013 when the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 11, which amended the Texas Government Code to change the name of the CHL to the LTC.

The Texas LTC, formerly known as a concealed handgun license or CHL, is a license that allows a person to carry a handgun in public places in Texas. It is issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) and is valid for five years. To obtain a Texas CHL, or Texas LTC now, an individual must meet certain requirements by law, such as being at least 21 years of age, having a clean criminal record, and completing a firearms safety course.

If you already have a concealed handgun license (CHL) which is now known as your LTC, it will need to be renewed every five years. In 2023, the renewal process for a CHL (LTC) will be slightly different than it is now. Here is what you need to know about the Texas LTC renewal process in 2023:

  1. If you are ready to apply for your CHL renewal you will need to provide proof of firearms safety training, such as a certificate of completion from a DPS approved firearms safety course like ours. We offered the required training, and if you are simply ready to start the online class you can get started on our website now at TexasCarryCourse.com
  2. We make the process a fast and easy option to get you on your way to having your concealed handgun license or CHL renewed, also now known as your license to carry or LTC.
  3. You will need to provide proof of identity, such as a valid driver’s license or state-issued ID card. You need to still be a citizen.
  4. You will need to provide proof of residency, such as a utility bill or bank statement. This can also include a job that is in Texas or a job that often requires you to travel to Texas for work.
  5. You will need to complete a renewal application and submit it to the Texas DPS.

What is the cost to renew your CHL (now your License to Carry)?

The cost to renew your LTC is $40. This fee is payable to the Texas Department of Public Safety. You can pay this fee online when doing your online renewal.

What does the required course process look like?

The online course is taught by a certified instructor. Our instructor is licensed by the DPS to teach license to carry (LTC) course for not only renewing your license but for those that also want to get their license to carry for the first time. As a reminder, even through I'm 100% confident you know this now... but the CHL is now called an LTC. Now back to the course.

The renewal course is made up of 4 modules and is 4 hours in length. I know that seems like a long time, but fortunately we break it into bite sized 10-15 minutes chunks so you can come and go as you need after each video. You can track your status in the course and log in and log out at anytime to resume where you left off.

At the end of the course, there is a 25 question multiple choice exam that you will need to get an 80% or higher to pass.

Upon passing the course you'll get whats called an LTC-101 form. This form is a DPS issued form that tells the DPS that you passed the required training to be able to renew your license.

You can get started taking the course on our website at TexasCarryCourse.com

What does the shooting proficiency portion of the renewal course consist of?

The shooting proficiency portion of the renewal course consists of a live-fire shooting exercise. You will need to demonstrate your ability to safely handle and fire a handgun. You will need to shoot a total of 50 rounds at three different distances. You will need to score at least 175 out of a possible 250 points to pass the shooting proficiency portion of the course.

The shooting proficiency portion of the course requires you to shoot from three different distances. The first distance is 3 yards, the second distance is 7 yards, and the third distance is 15 yards.

At each distance, you will need to shoot a total of 10 rounds. You will be scored on a scale of 0-5 for each round. A score of 0-3 is considered a miss and a score of 4-5 is considered a hit. You will need to score at least 175 out of a possible 250 points to pass the shooting proficiency portion of the course.

You will need to bring your own handgun and ammunition to the range. You will also need to bring your own eye and ear protection.

You can find more information about the shooting proficiency portion of the course on our website at TexasCarryCourse.com.

You will have to complete the first step of the course which is the online portion with us before you can complete the shooting portion. Upon completion of your online certification you can then take the shooting exam. Simply respond to your certificate email you will get upon passing the course and let us know what city are in and we will provide you with a complementary list of life fire instructors in your area that will be more than happy to assist you with the shooting portion. Keep in mind that we don't take any money from these instructors, we simply provide a list of instructors that our previous students have liked, to help you more easily complete the shooting portion.

You can get started taking the course on our website at TexasCarryCourse.com

How long does my Texas CHL renewal take?

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) states that the processing time for a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) renewal is typically 45 days. However, it can take up to 60 days for the DPS to process your application. You should apply for your renewal at least 90 days before your license expires to ensure that you receive your new license before the expiration date.

When can I renew my Texas CHL?

You can renew your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) up to six months before the expiration date of your current license. To renew, you must complete the online application and submit the required documents and fees. You will also need to complete a four-hour classroom course and pass a shooting proficiency test. Once you have completed all the requirements, your new license will be valid for five years.

Why do I need to renew my Texas CHL?

If you have a Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL), you must renew it every five years. Renewing your CHL is important because it keeps you up to date with the laws and regulations that govern the use of firearms in Texas. Additionally, it allows you to keep your license active and valid so that you can continue to legally carry a concealed handgun. To renew your CHL, you must submit an application to the Texas Department of Public Safety and pay the appropriate fee.

Do I need to get my fingerprints taken again to renew my CHL?

No, you do not need to get your fingerprints taken again to renew your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL). However, you will need to complete a four-hour classroom course and pass a shooting proficiency test. You will also need to submit the required documents and fees to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Where can I renew my Texas CHL?

If you need to renew your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL), you can do so through the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). You can apply for a renewal online, by mail, or in person at your local DPS office. To apply online, you will need to provide your current CHL number, a valid email address, and a valid credit card. For more information on the renewal process, visit the DPS website at https://www.dps.texas.gov/section/handgun-licensing/licensing-registration.

Where can I complete the required course to renew my Texas CHL?

You can complete the required renewal course for your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) at TexasCarryCourse.com. This online course is designed to meet the requirements set forth by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). It includes a four-hour classroom course and a shooting proficiency test. Upon completion of the course, you will receive a certificate of completion that you can submit with your renewal application to the DPS. The course is available 24/7 and is self paced, so you can complete it at your convenience.

Lets Summarize How to Renew Your CHL: TLDR;

Renewing your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is an important step in ensuring that you are legally allowed to carry a concealed handgun. To renew your CHL, you must submit an application to the Texas Department of Public Safety and pay the appropriate fee. You do not need to get your fingerprints taken again to renew your CHL, but you will need to complete a four-hour classroom course and pass a shooting proficiency test. You can apply for a renewal online, by mail, or in person at your local DPS office. The required course can be completed at TexasCarryCourse.com, and upon completion, you will receive a certificate of completion that you can submit with your renewal application. Taking the time to renew your CHL every five years is important to ensure that you are in compliance with the laws and regulations that govern the use of firearms in Texas.

You can get started taking the course on our website at TexasCarryCourse.com

 

 

 

Written by David Harrison

About the Author

David Harrison is an avid firearms enthusiast who has been in and around the industry since he was young. He has worked for multiple firearms companies and brings a wealth of knowledge to the Texas Carry Course Team. During his time off you can find him at the firing range, or at the local baseball field coaching little league.

See What Our 20,000+ Satisfied Students Have to Say

Our customers have had exceptional experiences with our class and recommend it to anyone looking to find a quick and successful way to get your LTC! See what they have to say below!

Texas Carry Course Reviews - TexasCarryCourse

Thank you for offering this LTC course online. I didn't have the time or desire to sit through an all day in person class. I wanted to get this done when I had the time. Thank you!

Ernesto G.

What Our 20,000+ Students Have to Say

Our customers have had exceptional experiences with our class and recommend it to anyone looking to find a quick and successful way to get your LTC! See what they have to say below!

Great way to get your carry permit. The company support was excellent when I needed help and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to take this course.

Deborah H.

A smart way to get your carry permit when you want it... right now! I took the class and the test followed by my live fire portion then was able to apply for my LTC.

Michelle B.

I was a bit skeptical at first. After I got my LTC-101 in the mail I took it to my local range to finish up the range exam. Now a few weeks later I got my LTC. Thanks!

Johnathan S.

Texas CHL

Made For Texans, By Texans.

God Bless Texas