How to Get Your Texas CHL in 2023: Also Known as an LTC

 Posted on January 4, 2023

Are you looking to get your Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL)? This article will provide you with all the information you need to know about the process of obtaining a CHL in Texas. We will cover the eligibility requirements, the application process, and the costs associated with obtaining a license.

Is it a CHL or LTC? Its both!

Before we jump in, did you know the Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is now called the Texas License to Carry (LTC)? The Texas DPS changed the name to License to Carry when they passed open carry laws. Since open carrying is now legal too, not just concealed carry, the state needed a more appropriate name for the gun permit.

It's ok to still refer to it as a concealed handgun license among friends if you would like, it still has the same meaning. In this article we will refer to it as your CHL, since thats what you are used to calling it for now. Just keep in mind when you are on our website, if you see of talking about an LTC, it's the same thing, just a new name.

To get started, sign up for our course at TexasCarryCourse.com.

 

I. Introduction

A. What is a Texas CHL?

A Texas CHL (Concealed Handgun License) is a license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) that allows you to legally carry a handgun in public, either openly or concealed. The license is valid for five years and must be renewed before it expires. In order to obtain a CHL, you must meet certain eligibility requirements and complete the application process that includes a background check.

 

II. Eligibility Requirements

A. Age

In order to obtain a Texas CHL, you must be at least 21 years of age. This is the minimum age requirement set by the state. If you are 20 years old and would like to complete the required training for a Texas CHL, you can do so. However, you will not be able to apply for the license until you are 21 years old. Once you have completed the training, you can submit your application and all of the required documents to the Texas Department of Public Safety. You will then have to wait until you are 21 to be approved for the license.

B. Residency

In order to apply for a Texas CHL, you must either be a resident of Texas or a non-resident. If you are a resident, you must have lived in Texas for at least six months prior to submitting your application. If you are a non-resident, you must have a valid job or business in Texas and be able to provide proof of employment. You must also have a valid Texas driver’s license or state-issued identification card. If you live out of state, check your states reciprocity agreements as you might be able to use your Texas CHL in your home state as well. We have a reciprocity map on our home page at TexasCarryCourse.com

C. Legal Qualifications

In order to be eligible to obtain a Texas CHL, you must meet the following legal requirements:

1. You must be at least 21 years of age.

2. You must be a resident of Texas or have a valid job or business in Texas and be able to provide proof of employment.

3. You must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law.

4. You must not have been convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanors.

5. You must not be chemically dependent.

6. You must not be delinquent in child support payments.

7. You must not be currently charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense.

8. You must not be a fugitive from justice.

9. You must not be currently restricted under a court protective order or subject to a restraining order.

10. You must not have been adjudicated as having a mental defect or have been committed to a mental institution.

11. You must not have been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions.

12. You must not be an illegal alien.

13. You must not have been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense within the five years preceding the date of application.

14. You must not have been convicted of a Class C misdemeanor or equivalent offense within the three years preceding the date of application.

15. You must be fully qualified under federal and state law to purchase a handgun.

To get started, sign up for our course at TexasCarryCourse.com.

 

III. Application Process

A. Training

The first step in the application process is to take an approved training course. This course must be completed by a certified instructor and must include at least four to six hours of instruction on the laws and regulations related to carrying a handgun in public. The course must also include a written exam and a live-fire shooting test that will prove you have the experience to hit a target consistently. Once you have completed the course, you will receive a certificate of completion that you will need to submit with your application.

As mentioned above the course is broken into two parts. The classroom portion which is done online through a DPS approved course provider like ourselves is the first step that is required. After spending the required time, which is 4 hours for the online portion and you pass the 25 multiple choice question exam, you will be issued whats called an LTC-101 certificate of trainings. You will take this document with you to the live-fire portion which is done in person with a local instructor where you will shoot 50 rounds through your firearms of choice. Keep in mind that these firearms must be approved weapons for use with your states carry permits. In this case your Texas Concealed Handgun License. The local instructor will fill out the remaining part of the LTC-101 form we gave you so you can then provide that to the DPS during your application process.

The required training is a great resource to stay up to date on the latest gun laws and regulations regarding constitutional carry.

More information about the required online portion of the course:

We specialize in offering the online portion of the course to our students. We offer a streamlined approach that is self paced, meaning you can come and go as needed and switch between your computer, tablet, and phone as needed. We give you 1 year to finish the course, so there is no need to stress over getting it done right away. Take as much or as little time as you need to get it done.

We also know it can be more enjoyable to take the course with friends or family members. Just for this reason we offer the biggest multi student discounts in the industry making your course as low as $25. Thats on average $45 CHEAPER than the competitors.

The DPS approved online course is made up of 4 modules, followed by a 25 question multiple choice final exam. You must get an 80% or better to pass and you get three attempts to pass. We have a 100% pass rate among our 20,000+ students. Once you pass the exam you will immediately get access to your DPS issued LTC-101 certificate of training. This document is required to apply for your license to carry (CHL) in Texas and you must bring it with you to your in person live fire proficiency exam.

To get started, sign up for our course at TexasCarryCourse.com.

 

III. Application Process

A. Required Documentation

In order to apply for your CHL online through the DPS website, you will need to provide the following documentation:

1. A valid form of identification, such as a driver's license, passport, or state-issued ID card.

2. A completed and signed CHL application form.

3. A copy of your certificate of completion from an approved training course.

4. A set of digital fingerprints which will be taken at "Identogo" using your service code you will get emailed to you from the DPS during the application process.

5. Payment for the application fee. $40 for civilians. Discounts are available to military, veterans, and more. They application process will guide you through whether you are eligible for any discounts.

More useful information regarding getting your fingerprinting done:

  1. Have your Service Code handy. You should have received your Service Code in an email when you completed your application online or via letter when your paper application is complete.
  2. Visit the Fingerprinting Services website, and enter your Service Code, or
  3. Call (888) 467-2080, and follow the instructions to schedule an appointment. When prompted, provide your Service Code.

We advise our students to complete the process in the following order.

  1. Complete the online portion and obtain your DPS issued LTC-101.
  2. Complete the live fire exam and have the instructor fill out part B and C of your LTC 101 certificate of training (this document is the same as an LTC 100).
  3. Start the DPS application online to receive your service code to get your fingerprinting done.
  4. Get fingerprinting done at Identogo.

To get started, sign up for our course at TexasCarryCourse.com.

 

IV. How Long is the Concealed Handgun License (also known as LTC) valid for?

The Concealed Handgun License (also known as an LTC) is valid for five years from the date of issuance. After five years, you will need to renew your license by completing the renewal process online through the DPS website. The renewal process requires you to provide updated documentation and payment of the renewal fee.

 

VI. Conclusion

In conclusion, obtaining a Texas Concealed Handgun License (LTC) requires completing an approved training course, providing the necessary documentation, and paying the required fees. After the application process is complete, the license is valid for five years and must be renewed after that time. The training course is a great way to stay up to date on the latest gun laws and regulations regarding constitutional carry.

To get started, sign up for our course at TexasCarryCourse.com.

Written by David Harrison

About the Author

David Harrison is an avid firearms enthusiast who has been in and around the industry since he was young. He has worked for multiple firearms companies and brings a wealth of knowledge to the Texas Carry Course Team. During his time off you can find him at the firing range, or at the local baseball field coaching little league.

See What Our 20,000+ Satisfied Students Have to Say

Our customers have had exceptional experiences with our class and recommend it to anyone looking to find a quick and successful way to get your LTC! See what they have to say below!

Texas Carry Course Reviews - TexasCarryCourse

Thank you for offering this LTC course online. I didn't have the time or desire to sit through an all day in person class. I wanted to get this done when I had the time. Thank you!

Ernesto G.

What Our 20,000+ Students Have to Say

Our customers have had exceptional experiences with our class and recommend it to anyone looking to find a quick and successful way to get your LTC! See what they have to say below!

Great way to get your carry permit. The company support was excellent when I needed help and would highly recommend them to anyone looking to take this course.

Deborah H.

A smart way to get your carry permit when you want it... right now! I took the class and the test followed by my live fire portion then was able to apply for my LTC.

Michelle B.

I was a bit skeptical at first. After I got my LTC-101 in the mail I took it to my local range to finish up the range exam. Now a few weeks later I got my LTC. Thanks!

Johnathan S.

Texas CHL

Made For Texans, By Texans.

God Bless Texas